Andy Sixx, Andy Biersack and now Andy Black.

So what’s new in the world of the Black Veil Brides lead singer Andy Biersack?

No he hasn’t changed his name again. Instead it’s his new solo project that he has decide to pursue.

After 2013 being a hugely successful year for his band Black Veil Brides; with the release of their third studio album Wretched and Divine, the short motion picture, a world wide tour and headlining Kerrang! Festival; it can be said that it was their most successful year to date.

The news of Andy going solo has been mixed upon fans, some worried it could mean the band are breaking up. That is not the case. Andy and other band members have openly spoke about getting to work on their fourth album and they are all very excited to start recording it.

Yet, Andy Black does now exist. 

His debut music video for “They Don’t Need to Understand” was released on the 19th May on the Hot Topic Youtube channel.

In my biased opinion, being a fan of Black Veil Brides, I will say that I do adore his new song. You can hear the  true rawness and talent in Andy’s voice a lot clearer than any song he has released with Black Veil Brides. The other band members are obviously also extremely talented, including bassist Ashley Purdy and Jinxx who both have proved time and time again what talent they truly own.

Even though this new single sounds a lot like a corny, cheesy pop song, I will admit that it has been stuck in my head for days. The song is upbeat and uplifting; everything a good pop song should be. The song is brilliant if you’re feeling like rubbish and it is most definitely a song to help wipe away the tears on a bad day. I’m not a musical expert so I cannot say exactly what I like and dislike about it, that I will leave to the professionals. But as a rock music fan , I can already say that it is going to be another love/hate moment for Andy. Some may enjoy it just as much as they do Black Veil Brides. Some may hate it just as much as they do Black Veil Brides. It could even sway the opinions of many and they may like one and not the other. For me, I enjoy both. It has been nice to see a new side to Andy, without the makeup, without the stage effects, and for it just to be him stood with a camera singing away.

But was this the right road for the rock and roll singer to take? In my opinion, yes it was. It shows that he is capable of doing more than just being a front man for a rock band. Does it mean that when he and the other members go to write stuff for Black Veil Brides they go down a more pop music route? I don’t think so. I can see Andy Black being used to release those songs that just don’t suit the Black Veil Brides look and style; and the rest of the band continuing down the path which they have already started one. All in all I will say that it is a good song and that it will be stuck in my head for a long time to come. I cannot wait to hear more from the Andy Black project.

Wanna know more?

  • Watch Andy’s interview with Hot Topic here
  • See photos of Andy Black’s look on Andy’s Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

